Pictures from our move

At last, I am back with full internet access so I can post some pictures of our move. Here is the trailer arriving at our new home, 7 weeks after leaving Glasgow, after a voyage across the Atlantic Ocean and through the Panama Canal.

And these are some of the removal men, from a great company called Panama Packing. They flew through the unpacking – it was quite a sight to see their lorry roll up, the back doors swing open and all these men jump out ready for action like a swat team!

The next day we received this stunning flower arrangement from this company which provided us with such an impressive service. I would definitely recommend them to anyone thinking of moving out here.

4 thoughts on “Pictures from our move

  1. I’ve read your posts and it seems you’ve had quite the ride.
    I visited Panama in January 2010 and enjoyed it so much that I’m thinking of moving but I was warned not to move until I’d experienced the rainy season.

    Online, the 2009 rainy season didn’t seem too bad with a high of 10 inches of rain in October. That’s only about 3/10’s of an inch per day.
    Your posts seem to indicate that it’s more severe than that. Is it?

    Also, I’ve moved inside the US and some things were “missing” upon arrival. I wondered whether the trailer arrived with ALL your belongings.

    Thanks for the info in advance.

    By the way, if you hadn’t bought your home yet, ask the realtor about buying a place in a development that was started before December 2009. Those properties are supposed to provide a 20 year tax break to the owner.

    Gary

    1. Hi Gary,

      Thanks for your comment. The rainy season is not too bad, at least not in Panama City. It tends to rain very hard for maybe an hour, then the rest of the day is clear. So it is easy to deal with. The roads have massive drains to deal with the torrential downpours. I believe the rainy season is more of a problem in the rural areas. But this is still my first year, so how typical the rainfall is, I don’t know. It is mid-November and the rainy season is almost at an end. It has been nothing like I was expecting – in Scotland it can rain continuously for days at a time, so this is pretty pleasant for me!

      All of our boxes arrived. We used Crown Relocation for the packing and transportation to Panama.

      We are renting a home, but thanks for the advice.

      Panama is an amazing place to live, but some people I have spoken to find it rather “rustic” after the US. I guess it all depends on the individual really.

  2. Glad to see you back. It looks like you are living in a nice area. What part of Panama City are you in? Thanks for the info on Panama Packers. Gretchen

Leave a Reply

