Road Trip

Last weekend we went out driving, heading north out of Panama City towards the jungle. It struck me that although we were in the middle of a tropical rainforest, there were still signs of heavy industry due to the proximity of the canal. This crane, appropriately called Titan after the Greek giant gods, is one of the largest floating cranes in the world. A little bit of internet research on this has informed me that this crane was in fact built by Hitler’s Germany then taken by the United States after the Second World War. Apparently its nickname is ‘Herman the German’.

Shortly after seeing Herman, we crossed a rather ramshackle bridge with lots of cracks and tracks down either side. All the way along the bridge it felt that the car tyres were going to slide into these tracks – it felt about as stable as a rope bridge, but for cars. There is a train track just beside the road. It was a bumpy crossing as you can imagine!

2 thoughts on “Road Trip

  1. Thanks for your lovely comments Sonia! Your English is good! I’m trying to learn Spanish too – not studying as much as I should be though! Nice to know you are in Panama and enjoying it like I am.

  2. Hi Jane! nice blog 🙂 I found the link surfing on Facebook pages. I moved in Panama with my boyfriend for your same reason 😉 we live in town, so it not so easy to see unusual creatures as you can (I love your photos too…so much better than mine ;-)))) We haven’t had a lot of trips around the country, hope to can do that soon! Sorry for my bad English, I’m trying to learn Spanish… I’m pretty confused! Have a great day :-))))

Leave a Reply

