Visa Shenanigans

I am writing this from a hotel room in Costa Rica, which we are visiting to comply with Panamanian Visa regulations. Our 90 day Visa Expiry deadline is fast approaching and two out of three of our children start school next week. So we thought it would be less disruptive for them to take a trip out of Panama before this major event in their lives. We must stay out of the country for a minimum of 72 hours before we are accepted back in for another 90 days. The bureaucratic system certainly doesn’t move quickly over here!

I am not mad on flying, I only like to do it if there is a compelling reason, but if we didn’t make this trip we would be classed as illegal immigrants – even though my husband is working on the Canal expansion and we are settled in a house here. It is a bit like the crazy worlds of Gulliver’s Travels and Alice In Wonderland combined. Nothing makes sense!

Anyway, the hotel is stunning with a curvy swimming pool and its own tropical gardens. Within minutes of entering the gardens we spotted a hummingbird and several butterflies. I could get used to not having a Visa if it means a weekend mini-break every 3 months with the company footing the bill. There are worse hardships!

I have taken several photos but unfortunately this hotel computer doesn’t have a card slot, and my new mini netbook isn’t connecting to the wireless, so the below picture is from a holiday website. I will post some photos of this mountainous tropical paradise when I get back to Panama, or when I get my wireless connection sorted, whichever happens soonest.

Gardens of the Hotel Palacio in San Jose, Costa Rica

5 thoughts on “Visa Shenanigans

  1. Thanks for these lovely comments Martin and Stacey! Yes, I would keep the creepy-crawly pictures away from her Martin! Stacey, I haven´t been to Colon yet, it sounds exciting though, hope your husband has a great experience!

  2. Nice blog , I am just starting the transtion phase to getting a home built on our property on the Azureo Pennisula ( Mata Oscura ) . I will keep the insect photos away from my wife.

  3. You poor thing! Having to take a dreadful trip like that every 90 days! I wish I had such problems! lol – Looking forward to your pics

Leave a Reply

